Saudi Arabian flag. Source :

The Foundation of Saudi Arabia came about in 1932 when a person called Abdul-Aziz Ibn Saud conquered and united four independents regions of Hejaz, Najd, Al-Ahsa, and Asir. The conquest of the four regions started in 1902, and eventually the conquered regions gave birth to Saudi Arabia in 1932. Therefore, we can said that the Foundation of Saudi Arabia was a gradual process that began in 1902 and finished in 1932.

Saudi Arabia which officially known as the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is a country located in Arabian Peninsula in the Western Asian continent. The country is the largest Arab country in terms of population. It’s bordered by Arab countries of United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Qatar, Iraq, Jordan, Oman, and Yemen. While to the west it’s bordered with the Red Sea.

The Conquest of the Four Regions

The process of conquering the four regions of Hejaz, Najd, Al-Ahsa, and Asir began the late 18th century. The conquest was a mixed of political and religious movement. However, the political conquest and that led to the birth of Saudi Arabia began in 1902. In 1902, Abdul-Aziz Ibn Saud who later became the first King of Saudi Arabia, began captured Riyadh. Since then, Abdul-Aziz and his army continued the process of founding the Kingdom through the series of conquest.

The Kingdom was Founded

Since 1902 when Riyadh was captured, different towns continued to be conquered. By the end of the 1920s, nearly all of the four Regions of Hejaz, Najd, Al-Ahsa, and the Asir were conquered.

In 1932, Abdul-Aziz Ibn Saud merged all of the four regions to formed a one single country called the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Abdul-Aziz crowned himself the King of the new Kingdom, thus, became the first King of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. King Abdul-Aziz designed Saudi Arabia as an absolute monarchy and governed along Islamic line in which Qur’an is used as the constitution of the country.

List of Kings since the Foundation of Saudi Arabia

  1. Abdul-Aziz Ibn Al Saud ruled from 1932 to 1953
  2. Saud Ibn Abdul-Aziz ruled from 1953 to 1964
  3. Faisal Ibn Abdul-Aziz ruled from 1964 to 1975
  4. Khalid Ibn Abdul-Aziz ruled from 1975 to 1982
  5. Fahad Ibn Abdul-Aziz ruled from 1982 to 2005
  6. Abdallah Ibn Abdul-Aziz ruled from 2005 to 2015
  7. Salman Ibn Abdul-Aziz ruled from 2015 to date

Ahmad Abdullahi, BA History

My name is Ahmad Abdullahi, I was born on 10th March, 1994 in Garun-Danga Town, Gabasawa L.G., Kano State. I attended FCE Demonstration Primary School from 2002 to 2007, FCE Staff Secondary School from 2007 to 2013, and Northwest University, Kano from 2013 to 2017, where I obtained bachelor degree in History.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button